Medieval History of Madhya Pradesh MP GK

Medieval History of MP

In the medieval history of Madhya Pradesh, several dynasties ruled over Madhya Pradesh. Started from the Mughal period and after Mughal Maharathas ruled over MP.

Slave dynasty 

The real founder of Islamic rule in India
Aibak defeated Parmardidev, ruler of Jejakbhukti and annexed Kalinjar, Mahoba and Khajuraho.

Iltutmish won Gwalior Mandu Malva and Ujjain and also nominated Muslim governor in Ujjain.

The Peak region over M.P. was during Iltutmish.

Khilji Dynasty 

founder Jalaluddin Khilji
He made domerest house in Mandu.
He looted mandu governor of Mandu(Ain-ul-Mulk) and Malva, also Mahoba, Vidisha,Chanderi and Dhar.

Tuglaq dynasty

Giyasuddin Tuglaq established this dynasty.

His governor built a palace in Damoh.

Inscriptions(Mohd. Bin Tuglaq) - Damoh.

Feroz Shah inscription found at Sagar.

Daughter of Rajput noble Ranmat of M.P. was mother of Firoz shah.

Lodhi Dynasty

Lodhi Dynasty was established by Bahlol Lodhi after attacking Gwalior.

Sikandar Lodhi was born to a Hindu mother.

Ibharam Lodhi He acquired Gwalior after Vikramaditya(son of Mansingh).

Mughal period

In 1526 AD Babur led the foundation of Mughal rule after de3feating Ibraham Lodhi.

In 1527 Babur annexed the western part of Malva after defeating Rana Sangha in the battle of Khandwa.

In 1528 AD Babur annexed Chanderi, Ashoknager in battle of Chanderi and also occupied Kalinjar fort.

In 1539 AD ser Shah Suri annexed Malva and Raisen fort after defeating Humayun in Battle of Chausa. He died during the conquest of the Kalinjar fort.

Akbar attacked Baj Bahadur the ruler Malva and rani rupmati was died.

In 1564 AD Akbar sent Asaf khan to take over Godwana, Queen Durgawati fought battle.

Mughal army also defeated Rewa/Ramachandra Baghel.

The last victory of Akbar was over Asirgarh Fort.

Shah Jahan defeated Juzhar Singh(son of veer Singh bundela) ruler of bundelkhand.

Aurangzeb born at Dauhar Ujjain

Marathas in MP

Gwalior Estate

It was a princely state out of 564 princely states in India.

It was ruled by the Scindia Dynasty of Maharathas in Subsidiary Alliance with britishers.

The state was founded in the early 18th Century by Ranoji Scindia.

Under Mahadji Scindia Gwalior became the leading power in India.

After the defeat of Marathas in the Anglo Maratha war, the State came under British suzerainty.

Gwalior was the largest state of C.I. under the political supervision of a resident of Gwalior.

in 1936 the Gwalior residency was separated from C.I. and made answerable directly to the Governor-General of India.

Later 1947 Scindia rulers acceded to the new union of India and Gwalior State was absorbed into a new state of Madhya Bharat.

prominent rulers of Gwalior estate 

  1. Ranoji Rao Scindia 1731 - 1745
  2. Mahadji Scindia 1768 - 1794 ( Madhav Rao 1 Scindia)
  3. Daulat Rao Scindia 1794 - 1827)
  4. Janpoji Rao Scindia (1827 - 1843) Husband of Tarabai
  5. Madhav Rao Scindia 2 1886 - 1925)

Jaiji Rao Scindia adopted son of Janpoji Scindia was under the doctrine of Dalhousie and in 1857 they were from the side of Britishers.

George Jiwaji rao scindia 1925 - 1948)
Madhav Rao Scindia 3 became a member of parliament and his son Jyotiraditya Scindia too Part of the Cricket Association.

Bhopal Estate 

It was an independent estate of the 18th century from 1818 to 1847, It was a princely State in subsidiary alliance with Britishers.

The state was founded by Dost Mohd. Khan Afghan ruler of Mughal army.

For instance, he unsurped the Rajput principality of Mangalgarh and Gond Kingdom of Rani Kamlapati after the death o the Female ruler.

Daust Mohd. Khan established his capital at Jagdishpur near Bhopal and renamed it as Islam Nagar.

During early 1720 Khan fortified the city of Bhopal and assumed the title Nawab.

In 1723 Bhopal came under the suzerainty of Nijam o Hyderabad.

In 1737 Maharathas defeated Mughals and Nawabs in the Battle of Bhopal.

The state was merged in the Union of India as Bhopal.

Rule of Begums.

Bhopal has seen the rulers of 4 Begums 

In 1819 ruled by Gauhar Begum.

After Sikander Jahan Begum 1844 to 1857

Shahjahan Begum ruled from 1868 to 1901.

Kaikhushrao  Begum ruled from 1901 to 1930.

Post a Comment